A Few Questions With: Trevor Cunnion

Trevor Cunnion is a stand-up comedian, one half of the sketch comedy duo Daring Daulton, and a writer for Philly Improv Theater sketch group Dog Mountain. He can also be seen performing tonight on Free For All, but before you definitely, certainly, no-doubt-about-it come to see him on the show tonight, get to know him a little better by reading his answers to our goofy questions.

Photo by: Tom Lovelund

Photo by: Tom Lovelund

Free For All: Who or what inspired you to do start doing comedy?

Trevor Cunnion: I was going to school for film and screenwriting and found that I was better at writing comedy scripts than other genres. Reading my scripts in class and having people laugh at them was my first real exposure to getting laughs. Though I started getting really bummed out senior year because I knew that was all ending soon, and I certainly didn’t have the means to produce any of the stuff I had written. I started watching Louis CK’s FX show just because I had heard it was good. At the time I didn’t know who he was, and I didn’t know much about stand up at all honestly, but it made me want to do it. I also knew that a lot of TV writers came from stand up so I thought that might be a good place to start after college. Finally I did my first mic at a bar called McSwiggins, ate shit, and now I’m here.

FFA: What are your thoughts and opinions on the Affordable Care Act and/or Syria?

TC: I would say the ACA is a step in the right direction.

I’ve never been to Syria. I’m sure it’s really nice, but I just don’t have any first hand experience to speak from.

FFA: How many hours of sleep do you usually get at night? Explain to us in detail the last dream you remember.

TC: On a weeknight usually 5-6. On weekends I don’t know.

This was a little while ago, but it’s the last one I can really remember. I had this dream where I was driving a car. My dog was in the car and I left him there, but then I lost the car. I went somewhere and then couldn’t find it. Finally the car turned up, but my dog was missing so I went on this search for my dog. This led me to some weird dog hoarder guy’s house, and I was pretty sure my dog was there. The guy was really scary, like he had a dirty apron on and looked very mean. There was a lot of weird junk in his yard. Christian Alsis was there at this point. I have no idea why, and I don’t remember anyone else I know in real life appearing in the dream. The dog hoarder started looking at us weird, then began chasing us. Christian got stabbed a few times in the neck with a knife or an icepick or something. I remember him yelling “Aaah, this guy’s stabbing me in the neck!” and laughing about that when I woke up. I think he lived. Maybe he died, I don’t know. It’s just a dream, whatever. Later the dog turned up in some super anticlimactic fashion. Like I just walked into a room and the dog was standing there, and I was like “oh, okay cool.”

FFA: What happens to us when we die? Not “us” as in “people in general;” “us” as in “Aaron and Alison.”

TC: You become beautiful constellations in the midnight sky, but by the time you both die there will probably be so much smog everywhere that they won’t be visible unfortunately. Just know that they’re there.

FFA: Tell us about your writing process. Does it change from stand-up, to writing sketch for your duo, Daring Daulton, to writing for Dog Mountain? If there is a difference, which do you prefer, and why?

TC: All of them start out as random notes that make no sense, and then I try to figure out what’s stand up and what’s sketch. Sketch ideas often start as just a character, which sometimes come from exaggerated versions of people I run into and the things they say and do. The main difference with stand up is that it’s more personal. I try to keep stories as close to the truth as possible while with sketch I’m free to construct whatever absurd situation I want. I can’t say that I really prefer one over the other.

See Trevor tonight on Free For All at 8pm at Rembrandt’s Restaurant & Bar. For FREE!

Leave a Reply

