A Few Questions with: Carolyn Busa

Carolyn Busa photo by: Steve Rogers

Carolyn Busa photo by: Steve Rogers

Free For All: BUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUSE?

Carolyn Busa: Hold on I think my phone is ringing….(sidenote: Although my phone is usually on silent, my ringtone is indeed the voice of Aaron Hertzog chanting BUUUUUUUUUUSE.)

FFA:  Are you mad that we started a comedy show in the same neighborhood that your comedy show’s in? Tell us the truth.

CB: I think the question should be are YOU mad you started a show? Having another successful show in the same neighborhood is a good thing in my opinion. Running a weekly show is tough work, especially in a neighborhood people might not consider a ‘hot spot.’ My hope is over time people will start referring to the area as the place with all the cool comedy shows instead ‘Oh, the place with the prison?’

FFA:  Do you thinking running a show has made you a better host, or more likely to experiment because you have that stage to try things out on every week?

CB: I’m sure Laughs on Fairmount has in some way helped my hosting abilities but what I have really enjoyed is the ability to experiment. You don’t get to do that if you’re hired to host somewhere. Usually I’m the one to stick to my routine or skit as my mom would say. LOF has forced me to rely on the environment, the crowd, the comics. I find I listen better when I’m hosting because I want to make sure I address all the absurdities in each set.

FFA:  If you could pick one person in the world to come up to you and say, “Hey, you’re really funny,” who would it be and why?

CB: Ok, the sick side of me knows deep down that answer is Hitler but the normal side of me knows it’s Conan O’Brien. Conan O’Brien was the first person who I’d watch and then I’d go and sloppily repeat what he did to my family or friends. ‘OMG he does this thing with his hips and he then he cuts the string…’ I’ve also realized that every comic I like has a trait that reminds me of Conan. He also features hilarious up and coming comics on his show and quite truthfully I want to be one of them.

FFA:  Tell us a cute story about your cute dog. Also, can you send us a picture of your cute dog to run with this interview? Also, can you bring your cute dog to the show? Also, can we have your cute dog?

CB: You’re gonna be sorry you asked for a picture. I wish I could bring my dog, Remy, to a show. Unfortunately, he doesn’t do well with crowds. He is on two antidepressants. The comic’s dog for sure. Ok this is gonna sound super lame to an outsider but one night he slept in our bedroom and we forgot to bring up his bed. When we woke up he had made a bed for himself in our closet on our dirty laundry. So cute, right?! Also, when he gets really excited he sounds like he’s speaking Hebrew.

IMG_4573

Get to know Carolyn even better by coming to see her perform on Free For All tomorrow night at Rembrandt’s Restaurant & Bar (741 N. 23rd St. Philadelphia) at 8:00pm. You can also see her opening for sketch group Mani Pedi on August 8th and 9th at 9:00pm at Philly Improv Theater at The Shubin Theatre.

Leave a Reply

